Riverside Sex Crimes Lawyer
Our Practice Areas
Sex Crimes in California
- Indecent exposure—This charge involves the offender willfully exposing their naked body or genitals to another person who becomes offended or annoyed by the offense. This crime is typically a misdemeanor punishable by six months in county jail.
- Rape—Using force, threats of force, or fraud to engage in non-consensual sexual intercourse with another person is a felony offense punishable by three to eight years in state prison. If the alleged victim sustained great bodily harm during the crime, this sentence could include an additional three to five years in prison. The prison term could be increased up to 11 years if the alleged victim were under 18 years of age or up to 13 years if they were under 14 years of age.
- Statutory rape—The legal age of consent in California is 18 years old. Sexual intercourse with a minor under 18 is statutory rape, regardless of whether the act was consensual or who initiated it. This crime is classified as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the ages of the two parties. An age difference of fewer than three years is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by one year in county jail, summary probation, and/or a $1,000 fine. A difference of more than three years can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. A felony charge is punishable by one year in county jail and probation or 16 months, two years, or three years in custody. If the offender is 21 years old or older and the alleged victim is under 16 years old, the potential sentence extends to two, three, or four years in custody.
- Sexual battery—Sexual battery refers to touching another person’s intimate parts against their will to achieve arousal or sexual gratification or perpetrate abuse against them. This
offense can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. A misdemeanor charge is punishable by either six months or one year in jail and a fine of $2,000 (this is increased to $3,000 if the alleged victim was your employee). A felony charge carries a penalty of two, three, orfour years in state prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- Solicitation of a minor—An offender can be charged with solicitation of a minor by engaging in a conversation with a minor under 18 years of age during which they solicit or ask the minor to meet in person to engage in sexual intercourse or activity. This charge can be brought regardless of whether the two parties meet or engage in sexual conduct and is typically charged as a felony punishable by a minimum of four years in state prison. The judge could impose harsher penalties if the solicitation occurred online or via an electronic device, if two parties did meet in person, or if the sexual activity did occur.
Proposition 83—Jessica’s Law
California Sex Offender Registry
Registration was formerly a lifetime obligation, but Senate Bill 348, passed in 2021, changed the law to categorize sex offenders into three separate tiers with different requirements based on the specific crimes.
- Tier one consists of the lowest level sex offenses, such as indecent exposure and misdemeanor sexual battery, and requires registration for a minimum of 10 years.
- Tier two concerns mid-level sex offenses, such as lewdness with a minor under the age of14 and requires registration for a minimum of 20 years.
- Tier three encompasses the most serious sex offenses, including rape, sex crimes committed against children 10 years of age or younger, and sex trafficking children. Crimes within this tier continue to require lifetime registration as a sex offender.
Rights of the Accused Party
Confront These Charges With Expert Legal Representation
If you have been accused of a sex crime, you cannot afford to delay in seeking expert legal representation. Even when your loved ones assume the worst and it seems that the entire world isagainst you, you have the right to legal representation to fight these charges. Prosecutors and judges take sex offenses very seriously compared to other crimes, rarely upholding the presumption of innocence, and often pursuing the maximum penalties. The only way to guarantee you have the best chance of reaching an optimal outcome is to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney with a background in sex crimes.
Exum Law Offices has over 25 years of experience defending clients against the most serious criminal charges and has helped more than 1,000 clients with cases in both state and federal courts. We will comprehensively examine every component of the prosecution’s case to create a strong defense strategy or negotiate reduced charges and alternative penalties to keep you out of prison. Contact Exum Law Offices today to learn how we can protect your rights and preserve your freedom.